Texas DWI Bail Bonds

Texas DUI Bail Bonds

In Texas, being convicted of a DUI/DWI can result in fines, loss of your driver’s license, jail time, and even prison time for multiple or aggravated offenses. Depending on the county where the incident occurs, being arrested for Driving While Intoxicated can result in being released on a PR bond or up to a $50,000 bail amount.

While every county in Texas has its own bail schedule for DWI charges, the state of Texas sets the cutoff for what’s considered “intoxicated” at 0.08 BAC. If your blood alcohol content is higher at the time of arrest or anyone was injured in the incident, your bail can be significantly higher.

How Much is Bail for A DWI In Texas?

The bail amount for a DWI in Texas depends on which county you’re arrested in. Even if it’s your first DWI charge, you’ll be arrested by the police and taken to the county jail. Your bail amount will depend not only on the county but also on your BAC, property damage, criminal history, and whether or not anyone was injured in your DWI event.

After you’ve been arrested, bail will be set according to the county bail schedule. Each county in Texas has its own bail schedule, meaning bail in Houston will differ from Dallas. Here’s what anyone arrested for a DUI in some of Texas’s largest counties can expect.

Harris County DWI Bail

Harris County uses a risk assessment to help determine bail amounts.

  • Below average risk
  • Average risk
  • Above average risk

Bail for a DWI in Harris County starts at $10,000 for below average risk defendants, jumps to $25,000 for average risk defendants, and rises to $35,000 for above average risk arrestees.

If anyone is killed or injured in the DWI, bail starts at $30,000 and can rise to $50,000 with above average risk.

Dallas County DWI Bail

Bail for a DWI in Dallas County for a first-time offender starts at $200 and can be up to $1,000, depending on the circumstances of your arrest. If you have prior DWI convictions, bail begins at $1,000 and can rise to $100,000 if you are currently on felony probation or if anyone was killed in the course of the DWI.

Tarrant County DWI Bail

The level of charge determines bail for a DWI in Tarrant County.

  • First DWI. Class B Misdemeanor. – $500
  • Second DWI. Class A Misdemeanor – $750
  • Third DWI. Third Degree Felony – $2,500
  • DWI with death or serious injury. Second Degree Felony – $5,000-$10,000

Bexar County DWI Bail

Bail for a DWI in Bexar County starts at $500 and can rise to $2,500 if you have multiple DWI convictions. A DWI resulting in death or serious injury will generally start at $25,000 and can go up to $50,000.

Travis County DWI Bail

First time DWI offenders in Travis County may be released on a personal recognizance (PR) bond if they pose little risk; however, they will usually be required to install an interlock ignition device (IID). First time DWI offenders who are determined to be low or medium risk may have their bail amount set at $2,000 to $3,000. Bail for a second or third DWI can range from $6,000 to $10,000.

Has your loved one been arrested for a DWI in Texas? Get in touch with a top-rated Texa Bail Bondsman from Bail Agent Network and get them out quickly.

Scroll to Top