DUI charges in any state or county can bring heavy penalties or jail time, even for first-time offenses. A first-time DUI offense can result in little to no bail, being released on your own recognizance, or even probation in many states. California DUI laws, however, are much stricter than many other states.
As of January 1st, 2019, California Senate Bill SB 1046 was put into effect, bringing significant to CA DUI laws changes. With this law passing, you can now apply for a special driver’s license before your trial or DMV hearing. You will likely have special restrictions from the court, but you will be able to drive, meaning your ability to attend work, work, and other necessities won’t be interrupted.
The new law allows for those charged with a DUI to install an IID (Ignition Interlock Device) in their car and complete 3 other steps to keep driving.
1) Install and IDD in your vehicle
2) Enroll in a substance abuse treatment program
3) Get an SR22 certificate
4) Visit the DMW before the end of your 30 day temporary license period
If you don’t take advantage of this option, you’ll be faced with the following;
- 30 day temporary license.
- 30 day license suspension with no driving privileges.
- 1 year restricted driving license where you can only drive to school or work, and getting caught driving anywhere else can result in additional suspensions, fines, and even jail time.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
An Ignition Interlock Device is a small breathalyzer that connects directly to your car’s ignition system. It measures the amount of alcohol in the user’s breath prevents the vehicle from being started until the driver takes an alcohol breath test. Many IID systems also have a small camera that snaps a picture every time a test is taken to ensure that the intended driver is the one taking the test.
IID’s are a common requirement for DUI, DWI, OWI, OVI, and other drunk driving related offenses.
How Much is Bail For A DUI in California?
If you’re being charged with your first DUI, you’ll be arrested and taken into custody. The penalty and bail amount you’ll face varies mainly on the location of the charge, your BAC, whether or not there were any injuries and your cooperation.
After you’ve been arrested, bail will be set according to the county bail schedule. Each county in California has its own bail schedule, meaning bail in Los Angeles will differ from San Diego. Here’s what anyone arrested for a DUI in some of California’s largest counties can expect.
Los Angeles County DUI Bail
In Los Angeles County, bail for a first-time DUI starts at $5,000. With prior DUI convictions, that amount can grow to over $50,000.
Driving Under Influence of Alcohol or Drugs $5,000
- 1 prior conviction within 10 years $15,000
- 2 or more prior convictions within 10 years $25,000
- Add for Traffic Collision, BAC Greater Than .15% or Refusal $10,000 additional bail
- Add for Both Traffic Collision and BAC Greater than .15% or Refusal $25,000 additional bail
San Diego County DUI Bail
In San Diego County, bail for a first-time DUI starts at $2,500. With prior DUI convictions, that amount can grow to $25,000
Santa Clara County DUI Bail
In Santa Clara County, bail for a first-time DUI starts at $5,000. With previous convictions, that amount can grow to $100,000.
- 1 separate violation within 10 years w/BAC less than .15 $15,000
- 1 separate violation within 10 years w/BAC of .15 or greater $20,000
- 2 separate violations within 10 years w/BAC less than .15 $35,000
- 2 separate violations within 10 years w/BAC .15 or greater $40,000
- 3 separate violations within 10 years (Felony) $100,000
Fresno County DUI Bail
In Fresno Count, bail for a first-time DUI starts at $5,000. If the offense involves bodily, that bail amount grows to $7,500 to start.
Sacramento County DUI Bail
In Sacramento County, bail for first-time DUI offenses usually results in being released on your own recognizance. With prior, DUI convictions that amount can grow to $100,000.
- DUI with 3 or more priors $50,000
- DUI with 5 or more priors $100,000
- DUI causing bodily injury with 1 victim $50,000
- DUI causing bodily injury with more than 1 victim $10,000 for each additional victim.
Contra Costa County DUI Bail
In Costa County, bail for a first-time DUI offense can result in a bail amount of $10,000 or being released on your own recognizance. Prior DUI convictions, injury, or property destruction can grow the bail amount o $250,000 or more.
- DUI with 3 or more priors $100,000
- DUI with bodily injury $50,000
- Vehicular Manslaughter with DUI $250,000
Has your loved one been arrested for a DUI in California? Get in touch with a top rated California Bail Bondsman from Bail Agent Network and get them out quickly.