Call Now

How Much is Bond for Domestic Violence in Texas?

Domestic violence is a sensitive offense that ends up with bodily injury to a member of the family or a loved one. Domestic assault might be punished by up to 20 years of jail time, a restraining order, and no physical contact with the household member.

Domestic violence in Texas covers physical injuries, threatening, doing personal harm to a family member, and abuse of the aforementioned. The criminal cases including misdemeanor labels are charged differently in each state.

We’ll discuss the fines and penalties for domestic violence, from a simple assault to a high degree felony in Texas. So how much is bond for domestic violence in Texas?

Domestic Violence Penalties

  • A Class “A” misdemeanor means that the offender violated the family protective order; in case the offender repeats the crime and builds up a criminal history, they can be sentenced anywhere from 2 to 10 years in prison; The charge of the Class “A” misdemeanor will level up to a 3rd-degree felony; The convicted might be required to pay fines ranging from $4,000 to $10,000 depending on the severity of the case.
  • Aggravated domestic assault involves assault with a deadly weapon and is considered a 2nd-degree felony; The penalties for this type of assault can vary from 2 to 20 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
  • Aggravated domestic assault that results in a serious injury that poses a threat to the life of the victim is considered a 1st-degree felony; The penalty for 1st-degree domestic violence felony can go all the way up to 99 years in prison.
  • Continuous domestic violence refers to multiple assaults within a year in the household; the penalties for a such crimes can be 2 to 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.

Sentencing alternatives for offenders of domestic assault can be probation – in lieu of prison time, attending counseling, or battering intervention programs.

Texas domestic violence laws allow victims in the family like intimate partners or spouses to file charges against the attacker. The family violence charge can also be held to foster children, foster parents, past or present dating partners, relatives by blood and other household members.

If you’ve been arrested for domestic violence in Texas and a judge has set your total bail amount, use Bail Agent Network’s bail bond calculator to calculate the amount you’ll need to pay a bail bond agent to post a bond on your behalf.

Types of Domestic Violence

The violence cases in Texas regarding the domestic setting are treated much more vigorously. For instance, there are various terms under a class A misdemeanor, including the following:

  • Financial Abuse – preventing the spouse or other member(s) of the family from continuing education or working.
  • Psychological Abuse – this will include emotional blackmail, preventing the alleged victim from leaving, threats of violence, behavior that causes intimidation and fear.
  • Physical abuse – misdemeanor domestic offense resulting in physical harm to the household member. This can include punching, kicking, hitting, choking, and causing severe injuries that can require medical treatment.
  • Emotional Abuse – insulting, humiliating, name-calling or criticizing your partner or family member.
  • Sexual Abuse – sexual assault or rape; certain cases can include unwanted touching, pressuring the partner into abortion, selling nude photos from the partner without their consent for pornographic purposes, etc.

In Conclusion

Determining your total bail amount for domestic violence is in Texas will depend on the offender’s criminal history record and previous domestic violence convictions. Once your total bail amount has been determined, contact a bail bond agent near you. The bail bond agent will work on your behalf to help you get released from jail. You will need to pay the local bail bondsman a nonrefundable fee that is equal to 10% of the total bail amount in exchange for them posting a bond on your behalf.

Use our online directory to find a reputable bail bond agent and use our online calculator to determine the amount your will need to pay the agent to post a bond on your behalf today.

Scroll to Top