Call Now

How Much is a Bond for Domestic Violence in Florida?

Domestic violence is a pattern of behavior in the relationship used to maintain power over the partner or family or household member. The act of domestic violence includes behaviors that terrorize, frighten, hurt, manipulate, intimidate, injure, blame or injure somebody in the family. It can happen to anyone, no matter their gender, religion, race, or sexual orientation.

The victims of domestic violence are usually the spouse, a child in common with a partner you’re not married to, parents, or grandparents. Domestic abuse may lead to injury, serious physical damage, or even death in the most severe cases.

If you’ve been arrested for a domestic violence charge and you do not have enough money to post bail, make sure to check out our bail bond calculator to determine the fee you can pay to a bail bond agent to post a bond on your behalf. But how much is a bond for domestic violence in Florida? We will help you better understand how much bail will be for domestic violence and better understand what is classified as domestic violence below.

Domestic Violence Law in Florida

The Florida Law defines domestic battery in the family as unlawful, intentional, and unconsented touching of a person in the household. A family member can include any of the following:

  • Children.
  • Relatives by blood and marriage.
  • Spouse.
  • Individuals living together.
  • Foster parents/foster children.
  • Ex-wives, ex-husbands.

A prosecution affidavit will be used in the legal proceedings of determining the gravity and severity of the felony. The person under investigation for criminal mischief is obliged to tell the truth and “only the truth” when brought into court.

Penalties for Domestic Violence

Domestic violence in Florida is punishable with various penalties.

If the case is classified as a 1st-degree felony, the accused may get a $1,000 fine, 1 year in jail, or 12 months in probation.

A 3rd-degree felony is punishable by up to 5 years in prison.

Additional penalties might include loss of concealed carry rights, community service hours, and 5 days required in jail. Felony charges have various ranges, with the most serious ones resulting with 30 years to life in prison.

The court often times issues a no-contact order where the accused is prohibited from any contact with the alleged victim, or might even get a restraining order if the no-contact rule is violated.

Some domestic violence cases in Florida can be thrown away and the accused found innocent. Examples of cases that could lead to a person arrested for domestic violence being thrown out include the following:

  • Absence of wounds and injuries.
  • Proof that the violence happened as self-defense.
  • If the accused was defending the property of others.
  • Mutual combat.

If you’ve been arrested for domestic violence charges, it’s your right to know that you should not be made to plead guilty without the presence of a criminal defense attorney once your case is reviewed and all of the legal options are considered.

If you are currently in jail and need help securing your release, contact a Florida based bail bond agent today. A bail bond agent will work to get you released from jail while you await your court date(s).

Scroll to Top