The term burglary is used when an individual enters a dwelling, conveyance, or structure with the intent to commit a crime.
When a person is arrested for burglary charges, they have to appear before a judge who will decide the terms and conditions of the bail order. Bail might be denied if the person is considered a threat to society and if that happens, they can’t be released from jail prior to their trial.
The robbery bail amount depends on the severity of the crime, the circumstances under which it was committed, a prior criminal record, and additional influencing factors, like the type of structure where the burglary occurred.
The total bail amount is decided by the judge. If the judge grants bail, the defendant can either pay the total bail amount or enlist the help of a local bail bond agent. The bail bond agent will post a bond on their behalf, which allows the defendant to be released from jail or state prison until their court date.
If the judge has granted you bail, use our burglary bail bond calculator to determine the nonrefundable fee you’ll need to pay a bail bond agent. In exchange for that fee, the bail bond agent will post bond on your behalf.
In various states, first-degree burglary is treated seriously and carries a severe punishment if the defendant is convicted of such crimes.
In Los Angeles, California specifically, when a person is charged with a first-degree burglary offense, the prosecution must prove several conditions that the defendant has committed a crime.
Per the California penal code 459, the bond for first-degree burglary depends on the details of the case.
The prosecution must prove that these conditions have been satisfied in order to prove first-degree burglary occurred:
- The defendant entered a residential building or a dwelling without the owner’s consent.
- The owners were not present at the time of the burglary.
- The dwelling is inhabited.
- The defendant has committed a crime – stole items from the property.
The unlawful entrance to a public or private structure with the intent to steal is often times charged as first-degree burglary.
According to the law description of robbery – The felonious taking of someone else’s property, without their consent or will, accomplished by the use of force, is considered a first-degree robbery. The penalties for robbery and burglary are punishable by up to 9 years in prison.
The penalties for burglary can include:
- Up to 9 years in state prison.
- Formal felony probation period.
- A fine of up to $10,000.
A person will be charged with a felony crime and be prosecuted for a 1st-degree felony if there was an unlawful entrance to an inhabited dwelling place.
Once the perpetrator is in the dwelling, it’s automatically considered felony theft. Their unlawful presence in the building is enough to violate many states’ penal code which can result in charges.
A first-degree robbery is considered a more severe type of crime and is subject to harsher penalties.
The penalties for first-degree robbery include:
- up to 9 years in state prison if the person committed the crime with two or more other people, or entered an inhabited dwelling and committed a robbery.
- Up to 6 years in jail if the person just entered an inhabited dwelling.
- If someone was injured during the robbery, the defendant might get additional years in prison added to the general sentence.
A judge will set bail, depending on the circumstances including whether the charges are for first-degree residential burglary or first-degree robbery. The bail is paid by the defendant or a relative, on their behalf, to the court. It’s an assurance that the defendant will appear for trial.
If you do not have enough money to pay your total bail amount, use our bail bonds calculator for burglary to determine the amount you’ll need to pay a local bail bond agent to post bond on your behalf.
A bond for first-degree burglary will be posted if the defendant hires a local bail bond agent near them.
The standard bail amounts vary per crime:
- First-degree burglary’s total bail amount can be within the range of $50,000 to $100,000.
- Second-degree burglary’s total bail amount is within the range of $25,000 to $50,000.
If you or a loved one are dealing with 1st-degree burglary charges, one of the best things you can do is contact a criminal defense attorney and prepare for the legal battle in court. Additionally, you can contact a bail bonds company and hire a bail bondsman to post bond on your behalf for a fee that is equal to 10% of the total bail amount. Once your bond has been posted, you will be released from jail until your court date.