Assault is defined as the intentional application of harm to an individual, whether directly or indirectly. Any crime that involves a physical attack is defined as an assault.
The state of Florida has two classifications regarding assault – a felony and a misdemeanor. The total bail amount for a felony is higher than the total bail amount for a misdemeanor. This is due to the severity of the crime and potential sentences imposed. The average bond for assault in Florida can range from small amounts for a misdemeanor to very large amounts for serious felony charges.
There are various types of assault – battery, simple assault, and aggravated assault.
– Simple Assault
In Florida, a simple assault is defined as when one person threatens another one, which might lead to aggravated assault later on. The simple assault doesn’t involve physical contact and is usually delivered in the form of verbal or written statements.
– Aggravated Assault
Aggravated assault happens when a simple assault transforms into a more severe act of violence. This type of assault can occur with a deadly weapon, like a rock, firearm, knife, etc. The aggravated assault can also be classified as domestic violence toward a family member, or another relative.
Allegations of child abuse are investigated by the Florida Department of Children and Families and can be classified as aggravated assault.
Battery and assault are terms often used interchangeably and associated with intentional and non-consensual physical contact with an individual. It can be in the form of sexual battery where the offender implies sexual harassment toward an individual.
- Battery charges can escalate to aggravated battery on a pregnant female and the charges will be much more serious. If the alleged victim is pregnant, the criminal offense will be charged under Florida Statute § 784.045.
- Florida law also protects Law Enforcement Officers that have been victims of assault under the BATT LEO.
The average total bail amounts for different categories of crimes depend on various factors.
The assault charges will depend on the situation. For instance, if the person is charged with a simple assault, the penalties can be up to 6 months in probation, 60 days in jail, and/or a $500 fine.
If the simple assault was categorized as a 2nd-degree misdemeanor, the total bail amount can start at $250. If the assault escalates to a 3rd-degree felony, it’s considered an aggravated assault and the total bail amount can be set in the $10,000 range.
The state of Florida has a bond schedule, set for the different categories of offenses. The default bonds for misdemeanors are:
- 1st-degree misdemeanor – $500.
- 2nd-degree misdemeanor – $120.
The felonies are charged as follows:
- 1st-degree felony – up to $20,000.
- 2nd-degree felony – up to $7,500.
- 3rd-degree felony – up to $1,500.
The total bail amount set depends on the specific bond requirements.
If you’ve been arrested on charges of assault in Florida, you can hire a local bail bondsman to post bond on your behalf for a nonrefundable fee that is equal to 10% of the total bail amount. The bond amount depends on the type of assault, severity, nature, status, and criminal background of the offender.
Bond agents in Florida are there to help you through the process and post bond on your behalf. To help you determine the nonrefundable fee you’ll need to pay a bail bondsman, use our bail bond calculator. Furthermore, it’s recommended that you hire a criminal defense attorney to help prepare for the legal battle in court.